## **MEMORANDUM**

April 13, 2004

TO: SSSP BOARD OF DIRECTORS

FROM: 2003-2004 SSSP LEE SCHOLAR-ACTIVIST SUPPORT FUND COMMITTEE

Chair: Talmadge Wright Members: Celeste Watkins and Angie Moe

**RE**: REPORT OF ACTIVITIES

The Committee prior to March 15, 2004 received 14 applications, requesting a total of \$19,383. 4 applications were rejected either because the applicants were not presenting at the annual conference and/or were not members of SSSP. The remaining 10 applicants had a total request of \$11,992. Two of the applicants were from Mexico, one from Chile, one from Germany, one from Panama, two from China, one from India and one from Australia. One applicant who we had rated very highly for the award, from the Republic of Georgia, had to be rejected under the rules of the award because she was not a member of SSSP.

APPLICANTS	Requested
<b>DEIRDRE M. SMYTHE</b> , Nanjing University	\$545.00
Nanjing, P. R. of China	
LINA HU, Nanjing University	\$2419.00
Nanjing, P. R. of China	
KARORI SINGH, University of Rajasthan	\$2070.00
Rajasthan, India	
HOSSAIN SHAHADAT, University of South Wales	\$2500.00
Sydney, Austrialia	
VICTOR M. FIGUEROA, Universidad Autónoma de	\$960.00
Zacatecas, Zacatecas, México	
IRMA LORENA ACOSTA, Universidad Autónoma de	\$960.00
Zacatecas, Zacatecas, México	
RAFAEL AGACINO, Colectivos de Trabajadores	\$1800.00
Santiago de Chile, Chile	
VICTOR JORDÁN, Universidad de Panamá	\$933.00
Santiago de Veraguas, Panamá	
SILVANA ANDREA FIGUEROA DELGADO, Centro	\$960.00
Zacatecano de Proyectos, Zacatecas, Mexico	
SEBASTIAN HAUNSS, Hamburg, Germany	\$1345.00
TOTAL REQUESTED	\$11992.00

All of the applicants were ranked by the committee from most to least deserving using the criteria established by SSSP. In addition, we gave greater weight for those who had not received an award in prior years. Each committee member gave a ranked number for each candidate. These numbers were then added up for each applicant and a total produced. These totals were then used to rank the applicants one more time. From the rankings it was clear that four applicants stood out from the others. They are outlined below in the award recipient's box. The full request amount was granted for the top two applicants while the other two applicants received partial funding from the remaining amount.

Rafael Agacino was placed as our top applicant for his work in Chile with the Colectivos de Trabajadores. His work, clearly reflecting an activist agenda is important in an era of neo-liberal globalization. Victor Jordan's work in Panama, establishing links between the local cooperative movements and the university, is relevant in uniting both activists and academics. Silvana Andrea Figueroa Delgado's work at the Centro Zactecan de Proyectos in Mexico is also directly relevant to the award because of her non-profit work and its relationship to social movements that can challenge the neo-liberal model of development in Mexico. Finally, Sebastian Haunss's work as an anti-racist organizer in Hamburg deserved support since it brings to SSSP activists who are working outside the academy to grapple with the negative effects of right wing nationalism in Germany. There was a consensus in the committee to support Agacino and Jordan at full funding and Delgado and Haunss at partial funding.

There was strong support as well for the proposals of Smythe, Acosta, and Figueroa. However, because each had received funding the prior year the committee felt that others should be given an opportunity, since our funding support was small to begin with. The committee also felt that every effort should be made to give the applicants full funding to avoid conference cancellations as a result of inadequate funding. The remaining proposals were hampered by inadequate explanation, lack of clarity, or as it seemed to us, to be of a purely academic orientation.

The final allocation of the 2003-2004 Lee Scholar-Activist Support Fund is as follows:

2003 Lee Scholar-Activist Support Fund Recipients

	Requested	Awarded	Percent
1. Rafael Agacino	\$1800.00	\$1800.00	100%
2. Victor Jordan	\$933.00	\$933.00	100%
3. Silvana Delgado	\$960.00	\$633.00	66%
4. Sebastian Haunss	\$1,345	\$634.00	47%
TOTAL	\$5038.00	\$4000.00	

The Chair of the 2003-2004 SSSP Lee Scholar-Activist Support Fund wishes to extend his most sincere appreciation for the collaboration and support provided by committee members Celeste Watkins and Angie Moe, as well as for the continued support and procedural guidance provided by the SSSP's Administrative Officer & Meeting Manager, Michele Smith Koontz.